The Best Way To Know More About Guitar Scales

Hello guitar friends, Darrin Goodman here from with another little guitar lesson for you. Today I want to talk to you about guitar scales lessons. When you are looking into getting some knowledge on the guitar scales you must first determine what it is you are looking for. Guitar scales is very broad range of information because there are so many different types of scales. Let’s take a look at some of the different types of guitar scales.

The 7 Tone Scale:


The 7 tone or “Major Scale” is a musical scale that consists of 7 notes and is core of western music. An example of a “Major scale” is the “C major scale” which has no sharps or flats and consists of the notes; C, D, E, F, G, A, and B.

A variation of the “Major Scale” is the “Natural Minor Scale” which is made by flattening the third, sixth and seventh tones of the “major scale”. Here is an example in the key of “A minor” that consists of; A, B, C, D, E, F and G.


The 5 Tone Scale

 The 5 tone scale or “Pentatonic Scale” is a musical scale that consists of 5 notes. This scale is very prominent in the “Blues genre”. An example is the “A minor Pentatonic Scale” which consists of the notes; A, C, D, E, and G. You can look at it as a variation of the “natural minor scale” by leaving out the second and sixth notes of the scale.


These are just a few examples of guitar scales. There are far too many to go over for this article. By learning the learning the “Major Scale” and all seven of its positions, including the “natural minor scale”, and the “pentatonic scale” and its cousin, “the blues scale”, you will have a good selection of patterns to work with. You can get a lot of great scale information as well as some working knowledge on how to apply them to lead guitar with the course “Fretboard Domination”. You can check it out here

Until next time,


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *